Two Summers by Aimee Friedman Review

I just finished this, and I think I have a new favorite contemporary.

I don’t read a lot of contemporary books- they tend to have too much sex and/or language. So when I find one that’s actually clean, I have an inner dance party. Because I really do love contemporaries.

And Two Summers was amazing. I loved it. Recommended by a friend from church, all it took was “France” and “New York” for me to be like, “can I borrow that?”. And it was such a great book.

The novel follows Summer Everett, a girl planning to go to France to visit her father in the summer. A split second decision splits her life into two different summers- one in France, one in her hometown of Hudsonville, New York. In both summers, she finds adventure, love, and a family secret that could rip her life apart. 

I liked the France summer better (which had absolutely nothing to do with Jacques…), probably because it’s France. My country. Well, not really, but I wish. And I understood every single French word without translation, which I’m quite proud of. But the setting was done so well! Aimee’s descriptions were realistic and she handled the French culture well. 

And Jacques. Ok, I lied, he’s probably the main reason I liked the French summer better. Because as soon as he was described, dark-haired, blue-eyed, and French, I’m pretty sure I swooned then and there. And he was speaking French, too. Yeah, he was a total flirt. But guys, he’s French. And I love him. Favorite character, hands down. So that was a lot of fangirling. Still is, obviously. 

Summer was so realistic. She was bad with making decisions and a little whiny at times (aren’t we all?), but I loved her. She had hopes and dreams and just a great character through and through. And her development was written well. 

The New York summer was interesting, and I enjoyed it. Not as much as France. The photography element was cool, and I loved Summer’s Aunt Lydia. 

And the friendship element was amazing. There’s not a lot of friendship stories in YA, at least not in my experience. I loved the way Summer and Ruby’s friendship developed. It was also realistic. 

Hugh, Summer’s New York crush, was cute. Not Jacques cute, but cute. He was a writer, so that’s relatable, but I don’t think I got to know him well enough. 

It was a book about family, friendship, first love, and travel, and all-in-all, it really was amazing. 

4/5 stars- I highly recommend it. Especially if you like France (and French boys, cause I can’t stop fangirling over Jacques. Obviously).

Have you read Two Summers? If so, what did you think?

-Clara

4 thoughts on “Two Summers by Aimee Friedman Review

      1. Good answer, there is a dark side to France however. Only things that can be fully understood by living there though. My favorite part about it was the country, where long fields of lavender bloomed, and small vineyards were everywhere, the houses were made of brick, and very cool, the patio’s were large, and you could sit and drink lemonade while you waited for your turn to ride the small motorbike. It would ride fast, down a long road, with the French air blowing on your face n the sun.

Leave a Reply

