Reader Relationships: Love Triangles

Confession Time: I love love triangles. And love squares.

Sometimes, I find myself torn between multiple characters in books. There are lots of crush-worthy guys in YA, sometimes more than one in the same book or series. I’m looking at you, Marissa Meyer. And a lot of times, I love them all. Here’s some of the love triangles I’m caught in the middle of.

1. Finnick Odair and Peeta Mellark

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

Peeta is my beloved who needs lots of hugs from yours truly. I love him so much and seeing him in Mockingjay brought tears to my eyes. He is my precious darling and I want to put him somewhere where the Capitol can’t get to him.

As for Finnick… It was recently pointed out to me (by my brother, of all people) that Finnick and I would be perfect for each other. And it’s true- Finnick and I would have a totally book-worthy romance. It would probably be one of those hate-to-love stories. He’d drive me crazy just for fun and somehow I’d fall in love with him. 

2. Ian Kabra and Jake Rosenbloom

The 39 Clues: Cahills vs. Vespers by Various

I’ve had more time to bond with dear, snobby Ian (I have a thing for snobby British guys, I guess), but Jake is one of those fictional guys I don’t think I’ll ever get over. 

Ian is hilarious- and we’d probably hate each other at first- and I just can’t help but love him. He didn’t even know what Walmart was at one point- he’s extrememly wealthy and British- and another character told him it was “the newest luxury store”. Ian is charming, funny, and British. Which means he drinks tea. So we’d get along in that respect. 

Jake was a jerk if ever there was one when he was introduced. And I couldn’t stand him for a second. Not so anymore. Jake is also a tiny bit snobby, exceptionally smart, handsome (ok, he’s gorgeous), and generally amazing. I’m serious, thinking about him makes my face light up.

3. Prince Kai, Wolf, and Carswell Thorne

The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

How could these guys not be on this list? They are all just amazing in their own ways and I love them all for different reasons.

Kai is that noble Prince Charming (and he most certainly is charming). He’s loyal to his country and his people and isn’t afraid to do what needs to be done. 

Wolf is loyal, gentle, and protective. He’s not the handsomest of the TLC men, but his personality is the one I’m the most drawn to. There’s just something about him. 

Carswell Thorne. My darling Captain. *swoon* He’s a scoundrel, that’s for sure, but he’s also brave and charming. And utterly hilarious. 

Are you caught in a sort-of love triangle in regards to books?

-Clara

16 thoughts on “Reader Relationships: Love Triangles

  1. I love this, especially your book examples, lol! I admit I get into love triangles all the time in manga! I don’t know why but the secondary characters are sooo good in shojo manga (sorry I just got off and can’t think of the names for examples) but like the Ouran Club crew, wow! I love everyone! ♥️

      1. You’re examples were some of the great ones… I know I dislike love triangles when the guys aren’t developed enough and I wish the writer would concentrate on one or the other if they can’t do justice to both men…

  2. Ahh I love this!! There are so many characters I love in books, but I don’t know if I’ve ever had more than one crush per book (I’m trying to think of one, but nothing is coming to mind)

Leave a Reply

