Reader Relationships: We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together

Cue the Taylor Swift music. Because for today’s Reader Relationships, I’ll be sharing with you books and characters I just do not like. At all. They had their chance and just didn’t deliver.

1. Robinson Crusoe by Daniel Defoe

This is, beyond a shadow of a doubt, my most detested book ever. I hate it. It bored me half to death and it had cannibals- something that always makes me dislike whatever it is. 

I read this twice, both times for school, and if I ever have to read this again I’ll scream.

And I think island survival stories are all the same. So I don’t read them.

2. President Snow from The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

Such a well-done villain. I hate Snow for everything he did in this series, minus telling Katniss about Coin.

3. Queen Levana from The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

I do not care what Channary did to her- Levana will never get my pity. She is evil and twisted and I don’t feel a bit sorry for her.

4. Empress of a Thousand Skies by Rhoda Belleza

The sad thing is, I wanted so badly to enjoy this book. It had so much potential. But I just didn’t like it. The plot was all over the place, I didn’t care a thing about the characters, and it was just boring.

5. Isabel Kabra from The 39 Clues by Various

Last time I mentioned this woman’s son, Ian, whom I absolutely love. But Isabel is about on the same level as Levana for me. No sympathy. At all.

6. Ivanhoe by Sir Walter Scott

Oh, how I wanted to love this. It just felt forced and was poorly written. Not good.

What’s a book or character you just don’t like?

Clara

8 thoughts on “Reader Relationships: We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together

  1. I love your blog! Your discussion posts are totally phenomenal.
    Hmm… If I think Dave Eggers, The Circle pretty much scarred me for LIFE. It is the horrible book behind my June-gloom reading slump that I was finally able to overcome, thanks to When Dimple Met Rishi. It was recently made into a movie with Harry Potter’s very own Emma Watson, so I thought the book was going to be amazing… WRONG!!! The premise was super intriguing, being about an internet company, The Circle objectifying humans and invading privacy but the writing, oh dear gawd, the writing was terrible…
    I look forward to reading more from you in the future Clara… Happy Reading 😀

  2. What a great list… honestly I struggle with classics as a modern person… (except for Kim by Rudyard Kipling for some odd reason I love it!!) I struggled with Red Queen… I know, I know, don’t slay me, lol! I hated the MC so bad I just can’t. Great post Clara!

Leave a Reply

