In Which I Fangirl over the Amazing Couples in the Lunar Chronicles

Since I’ve been rereading The Lunar Chronicles, I’m in that super fangirly mode because all of those couples are just so unbelievably adorable. I was reading Cress this morning and just sitting there squealing over how cute Cress and Thorne are. Seriously. 

So here’s me fangirling and quoting some adorable moments about each couple. And if you haven’t read this series, you’ll find lots of spoilers ahead.

Kai and Cinder (Kaider):

“Cinder?”

“Mm?”

He lifted his gaze. “Just to be clear, you’re not using your mind powers on me right now, are you?”

She blinked. “Of course not.”

“Just checking.” 

Then he slid his arms around her waist and kissed her.

These two. Sometimes they argue, usually over the best way to defeat Levana. Other times it’s just banter, which is always fun to read. But they overcame social prejudices. She’s a Lunar cyborg princess- on Earth, where cyborgs aren’t treated well and Lunars are hated. He’s the emperor of an entire country, with way too much stress on his 17-or-18-year-old shoulders. Seeing their relationship grow is nothing short of amazing, and by the time Stars Above rolled around they’d well earned my respect. The amount of things they went through to be together is amazing.

Wolf and Scarlet (Wolflet):

“I know you must want nothing to do with me. I don’t blame you.” Wolf scrunched up his shoulders, and met her with an expression full of regret. “But you’re the only one, Scarlet. You’ll always be the only one.”

Wolflet is my favorite couple of all time. Ever. Because they are just so perfect for each other. I mean really. They’re just so cute. And yes, theirs is probably the cheesiest of all the TLC relationships, but still. It’s one of those Beauty and the Beast stories, and I love how they accept each other completely. Even after Wolf undergoes the full genetic tampering. And he loves her so much. His love for her is so very clear in each of the books, especially when she’s a prisoner on Luna. And when they got reunited, I think I cried tears of joy. 

Cress and Thorne (Cresswell):

“… I have to stop stealing things, but that’s probably a given. So I figure, by the time you realize how much I don’t deserve you… I might kind of deserve you.” His grin turned smug. “And that’s how that speech was supposed to go.”

“That was a good speech,” she said. 

“I know.” 

…”Captain?”

“Cress.”

She couldn’t not say it, although she realized he was right. It was sort of scary. Much scarier than it had been the first time she’d told him, out in the desert. It was different now. It was real. “I’m in love with you.” 

He chuckled. “I should hope so, after all that.” He leaned forward and pressed a kiss against her temple. “And I love you too.”

This relationship is just so sweet. Seeing Cress go from that awkward girl who may be just a little more than obsessed with Carswell Throne to truly loving him is simply beautiful. And then seeing Carswell falling in love with her, when he’d been a criminal and a scoundrel all his life, was just as beautiful. The way their relationship grew just makes me go semi-crazy. Because it’s adorable.

And I’m not yet in love with the Jacin/Winter (I think it’s Wincin) ship, but this reread may change that. They’re cute, but they haven’t grown on me yet.

So, who’s your favorite TLC couple, and why? 

-Clara

7 thoughts on “In Which I Fangirl over the Amazing Couples in the Lunar Chronicles

  1. *intense squealing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!* Being in the midst of my TLC reread right now and reading your post is just overwhelming me with a whole bunch of feels and ahhhhhhhhhh I just love all these ships so much! I wanna say I love them all equally…but Cresswell had me squealing the most throughout the series so I have to give it to them! They are just so cute together!!!! *more squealing* Awesome post!

Leave a Reply

