My Favorite Classics

I have mixed emotions about classics. Sometimes they’re amazing, sometimes they bore me half to death. But every once in a while I find one that’s fantastic in every way, and today I want to share with you some of those old books that I absolutely love.

1. The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas

Ok, so as soon as I saw the length of this thing, I loved it. It’s nearly 1500 pages, and I love a big book. But it is just so good. It wasn’t boring for a second. The plot was marvelously crafted and well thought out, the characters were flawed and felt so human, and it was just such a good book I couldn’t help but love it. It’s on my list of all-time favorites.

2. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

Another classic on the favorites list. Unlike Monte Cristo, Gatsby is very short at only 180 pages. Yet those pages contain not only an intriguing story. The book has a quietly beautiful way of telling the reader not to dwell in the past. I don’t “read between the lines”, because I just don’t get the whole “what-did-the-author-mean-by-this” thing, but Gatsby teaches a lesson in a stunning yet subtle manner, and I love it.

3. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

I love this book. The characters, the writing, the plot line. And it has Mr. Darcy, who must be the root of all dark and brooding princes that you find in YA today. And the haters-to-lovers trope, which I honestly can’t get enough of. It’s just a wonderful story that’s fun to read. And do watch the 90’s TV adaptation. It’s great.

4. Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell

Yes, it took me six months to read. Yes, it was boring for a couple hundred pages. But yes, in the end, I loved it. And I sobbed harder than I can ever remember crying over a book. That ending. 

Rhett and Scarlett are just perfect for each other. Scarlett is truly a character to look up to, for her gunption and raw determination. It’s just a marvelous book, really.

5. Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

I think I was 10 or 11 when I read this, and it’s time for a reread sometime soon. It’s truly a novel written for girls- one that is filled with memorable characters and fun adventures. It’s a simple book, but it holds lots of good memories. 

What’s your favorite classic?

-Clara

11 thoughts on “My Favorite Classics

  1. My favorite classic is probably Robinson Crusoe by Daniel Defoe. I also love Little Men by Louisa May Alcott.
    Just so you know, I am a fellow RPC student, so you get a hint of who I am 🙂

Leave a Reply

