My Favorite Retellings

Hey folks! 

It’s really not a secret that I love a good retelling. Today I’d like to share with you some of my favorites.

1. Entwined by Heather Dixon (The Twelve-Dancing Princesses, or the Shoes that were Danced to Pieces)

I just love this book! It’s absolutely amazing in every way: the plot, the characters, the writing.

2. The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer (Cinderella, Red Riding Hood, Rapunzel, and Snow White)

 

This series takes fairytales and turns them into an epic sci-fi. Add an almost-dystopian plot and you’ve got a fantastic series.

3. The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh (A Thousand and One Nights)

I was a little bit confused about the events of this duology, and there were a few plot holes, but it’s a great story with memorable characters.

4. The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi (Persephone and Hades)

This. Book. It is just so so good. It made me fall in love with Indian and Middle Eastern worlds, too. So in my reading it sorta made history.

5. Heartless by Marissa Meyer (Alice in Wonderland/Queen of Hearts)

Just woah. Like Effie when she saw Katniss in that dress, I was taken aback by the marvelous way this book was written. The wimsy of Wonderland and an increasingly darker tone… It’s just stunningly written.

And there we have it! Five of my favorite retellings. And…

(Because I just can’t resist.)

-Clara

3 thoughts on “My Favorite Retellings

Leave a Reply

