Reader Relationships: Love At First Sight

Hey y’all! So today I’m starting a series of sorts. I want to talk about my personal relationships with books: plots, characters, writing, everything. 

If you’re interested in doing the same sort of post, go ahead, just please link back here. 😉

Today I’m going to talk about love at first sight- the books/characters I fell in love with from either the cover or the first chapter.

1. Entwined by Heather Dixon

I saw this cover in a review, and I loved it so much I immediately decided to read it. And if you’ve been here for a while (if not, welcome!) you know I’m irrevocably in love with this book. And the villain, Keeper. Also love at first sight. He has such nice… Fingers. (If you’ve read it, you’ll get that.)


That cover though. It’s beautiful. And I want that dress.

2. The Star-Touched Queen and A Crown of Wishes by Roshani Chokshi

So, TSTQ drew me in from both the stunning cover and the beautiful writing. 


And ACOW was the companion/sequel. I fell in love with that book even harder than TSTQ. And Vikram. I love him so much.

3. Ian Kabra from The 39 Clues by Various

The books had me hooked from the first chapter, but Ian. He is so snobby it’s hilarious and I just love him so so so much.

4. The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

Um, fairytales? In the future? Those stunning covers? Certainly love at first sight.

Although Cinder felt a little slow when I started, I still loved it the first time. And the second. 

And then there’s Kai. And Wolf. And Carswell Thorne. Carswell Thorne, who’s the most hilarious and charming criminal mastermind EVER. And Wolf is just so sweet and I really, really want to hug him. And Kai is this noble emperor that you simply want to root for. 

5. The Passion of Dolssa by Julie Berry

Medieval France was all I needed to know. The book is amazing, and it ended up breaking my heart, but it is hands down my favorite historical fiction novel.

What’s a love-at-first-sight relationship you’ve had with a book or character? Tell me in the comments!

-Clara

3 thoughts on “Reader Relationships: Love At First Sight

  1. I love love love James Carstairs. I am in love with him. (From Infernal Devices) I also love Apollo from Trials of Apollo, Percy Jackson, and my one and only Nico Di Angelo. ❤ And I love Magnus Bane. And Annabeth and Thalia. ❤ Oh so many characters are great and I lvoe them. I almost forgot. Luna and Hermione. 😀

Leave a Reply

