Mid-Year Freakout Book Tag!

So I wasn’t tagged, but here goes anyway…

Best Book You’ve Read This Year

The entire Hunger Games trilogy. I can’t pick a favorite, I’ve decided. They are all just amazing.

Best Sequel This Year

A Crown of Wishes by Roshani Chokshi! So. Good. And the banter between Gauri and Vikram? Stunning.

New Release You Want to Read

When Dimple Met Rishi. I love the arranged marriage trope and this book just sounds so cute!

Most Anticipated Release of the Second Half of the Year

Renegades by Marissa Meyer. Marissa is one of my favorite authors; her books are just so good!

Biggest Disappointment of the Year

Caraval by Stephanie Garber. I was beyond excited to read this, and then it wasn’t half as good as I’d expected. I enjoyed it, but was still disappointed.

Biggest Surprise of the Year 

The Importance of Being Earnest by Oscar Wilde. I knew I’d like it- a Victorian rom-com play? Of course it would be good. But I just loved it so much and it was so hilarious I laughed out loud multiple times.

Favorite New/New to You Author

Suzanne Collins. I’d never read one of her books before and The Hunger Games is just so fantastic. 

Newest Fictional Crush

Probably the hardest question in this tag, lol. But lately, Vikram from A Crown of Wishes, Peeta from The Hunger Games, and I think I’m slowly falling for Magnus from Falling Kingdoms. Slowly. 

Newest Favorite Character

Outside of the amazing characters in THG (I’m kinda obsessed, if you haven’t noticed), I really like Jane from Jane Eyre, Cleo from Falling Kingdoms, and Algernon from The Importance of Being Earnest. And Gauri from A Crown of Wishes. That spunk!

A Book that Made You Cry 

I haven’t shed many tears over books this year, surprisingly. But Mockingjay… And the movies for that book make me cry every time. Especially Part 2. I sob for so many reasons.

Favorite Book-to-Film Adaptation You’ve Seen This Year

Catching Fire. That movie stuns me every time I watch it. It’s just so well done! (And Everlark sails, so….)

Favorite Post You’ve Written This Year

You Know You’re a Book Nerd When… was tons of fun.

Most Beautiful Book You’ve Bought This Year

I read it for the first time last year, but bought and re-read it this year. And although the cover is strikingly beautiful in its own way, since reading it a second time I’ve come to see the beauty of the words inside it.

It is The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald.

A Book You Need to Read by the End of the Year

Well, for starters, the third book in the Black Widow series needs a title and a release date so I can pre-order it and figure out what on earth is going on with that cliffhanger. 

But I’d say Roshani Chokshi’s ebook novella, Death and Night. Roshani writes so beautifully and this is a prequel to The Star-Touched Queen, which is one of my favorotes.

I Tag:

inkgirlandwords

A Pretty Story

Thanks for reading!

What’s the best book you’ve read this year?

-Clara

4 thoughts on “Mid-Year Freakout Book Tag!

Leave a Reply

