Falling Kingdoms

Where has this book been my whole life?

So. Good. Seriously. Amazing. 

After the disappointment of Empress of a Thousand Skies, it seems I found what I was searching for. Been searching for for months, really.

Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes. 


Bravo.

In case you can’t tell, I loved it. So much.

I was intrigued by the prologue. Despite the first chapter feeling a little slow, the book quickly picked up and really got good.

And the world. I’ve been craving a good medieval-style fantasy world for ages, and I finally found one I love. The magic system was fascinating, leaving plenty of room for expansion in the rest of the series. Falling Kingdoms had very nearly everything I could want from a fantasy novel.

It’s length was perfect, just over 400 pages (although I hope for the books to get increasingly larger). I’ve already touched on the world and magic system. It had a plot driven by politics, yet the politicalness (is that a word?) was handled spectacularly. The characters were handled well and were far from flawless. That’s what makes them so real, isn’t it? 

And what I loved the most was the way the book really did force you to choose a side. It was unique, to say the least. 

All-in-all, 4.5 stars. I loved it. Falling Kingdoms wasn’t one of the best I’ve ever read, but it was a high fantasy I would certainly recommend.

-Clara

5 thoughts on “Falling Kingdoms

  1. Hi Clara! I have a question. So my younger sister wants to look into publishing he rstory on CreateSpace, which is what you did, right? So how did you get your cover? WHo designed? Did you do so yourself? Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

