Empress of a Thousand Skies

Hey y’all!

I actually DNFed a book for the first time in forever (anyone singing?). And it was…

Empress of a Thousand Skies by Rhoda Belleza. And here’s why.

For starters, the only character I even relatively liked was sort of a minor character. Rhee just fell flat, and Aly was just plain annoying. I didn’t care about anyone. I didn’t connect. And it makes me really sad to say this- I had high hopes for this and was expecting something as gripping as Star Wars. 

Nope. 

The plot was slow and kinda all over the place. It felt like parts had been taken out and the remainder smashed together. One moment the characters would be in one place, then, in the very next sentence, they’d be somewhere else. Weird.

And it was just more boring than it was interesting. I was never “oh-what’s-going-to-happen” at all, even after 200 pages. It was just tiring, not knowing exactly what was going on and not really caring.

I just found myself bored.

But I did enjoy the world. It was a fascinating collection of planets that was cool to read about.

So, without having finished it, I’d give it 2-2.5/5 stars. Just kinda bleh.

I’m waiting for a book that will stun me and make me go totally:

Because aren’t those the best?

-Clara

3 thoughts on “Empress of a Thousand Skies

Leave a Reply

