The Best of my School Books- 2016-17 

Back before the school year officially started, I did a video talking about which books I’d be required to read this year. Last week was the finally academic Monday- we spent today playing games- of co-op. 

The books were a good mix of liked, loved, didn’t like, and hated.

So, ranking the 8 books outside of honors books:

8. Robinson Crusoe by Daniel Defoe

I hated this book the first time I read it. Nothing changed the second time around.

7. Death Comes for the Archbishop by Willa Cather

It wasn’t terrible. I just found it very plotless.

6. Walden by Henry David Thoreau

It was a collection of essays. Again, boring, but I agreed with a lot of the points made.

5. Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad

I don’t really remember this book. But I didn’t hate it.

4. Ivanhoe by Sir Walter Scott

I was really disappointed by this book. It sounded amazing. I enjoyed it, yes, but I found it very poorly written.

3. Till We Have Faces by C.S. Lewis

I really liked this book. It was a retelling of a Greek myth- how could I not? Not to mention the creative writing assignment was an absolute blast.

2. The Importance of Being Earnest by Oscar Wilde

Oh, this play. It was absolutely hilarious.

1. The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas

I’m pretty sure I haven’t stopped raving about it since I finished it. Just WOW. So. Good. 

It was a good year for books. None of them were torture, except for Robinson Crusoe. And I found my new favorite classic. 🙂

-Clara

3 thoughts on “The Best of my School Books- 2016-17 

Leave a Reply

