Looking Back on the Matched Trilogy

It’s been a few months since I finished Reached, and I think there’s a lot more to be said about it now than there was in January.

I’ve realized that I didn’t love this trilogy for the plot, or the characters, or even the setting. 

Sure, the plot held my attention and it was a unique concept. I loved Cassia, Xander, and Ky. The whole Society did make me slightly claustrophobic. So I wasn’t fond of the setting.

I love the way it’s written. It’s like poetry, only not. It’s filled with wisdom and little groups of words that truly make you think. And it is absolutely stunning.

My copies of Crossed and Reached are filled with ink where I underlined on nearly every page. And if I re-read Matched, I’ll certainly have a pen.

The story is good and the characters are well-developed. But it’s truly the writing that made me love it so much. The way it is like poetry and filled with wise words.

Pick it up and read it if you haven’t. You’ll be struck by at least one sentence.

You cannot change your journey if you are unwilling to move at all.

-Ally Condie, Reached

-Clara

3 thoughts on “Looking Back on the Matched Trilogy

Leave a Reply

