These are the Things I Want More of in YA

I love YA. It’s pretty much all I read. And as much as I love a good love triangle, there are some things I wish YA had more of. One day, I’ll write books that fit some of these criteria. Here’s just a few things that I want to see more of in YA fiction.

1. Villain/Heroine love stories.

Seriously. My biggest “what-if”s when I read involve something along these lines. Sometimes the male villain has so much chemistry with the heroine that I really really really ship them. Hard. I don’t know how a female villain/male hero love story would work, but if it’s out there, I’d love to give it a read. 

2. Betrothals that actually work out.

I long for an arranged marriage story that ends with the two who are betrothed in love and married. I just love betrothals in fiction in general, honestly. It looks like the upcoming When Dimple Met Rishi may be like this. 

3. Curses to Break

I love curses in fantasy. Not the ones that only physically affect people. I want more curses in the style of The Wrath and the Dawn. That was a curse. I loved it.

4. The Villain That’s Not Just A Villain

A villain who has a complicated, emotional reason for his evil. A villain that’s a villain but not a villain at the same time.

5. Foreign Settings in Contemporary

I really want to see stories set in foreign countries with foreign main characters. I loved Written in the Stars by Aisha Saeed- it was a great story with an interesting look at Pakistani culture. More books like this would be amazing. 

What do you want to see more of in YA? Do you know of any books with the above tropes? 

-Clara

7 thoughts on “These are the Things I Want More of in YA

Leave a Reply

