Caraval by Stephanie Garber

This was one of my most anticipated reads of 2017. And I must admit myself slightly disappointed.

I liked it, I really did. It just wasn’t everything I was expecting. 

This book follows Scarlett Dragna, a girl who loves her sister more than anything else and lives with an abusive father. For years, she’s wanted to go to Caraval- a magical game. When she finally gets to go, her sister is kidnapped and the entire game revolves around her. 

I loved the setting. Caraval was this lush carnival setting that really pulled me in. 

My favorite part of this book was Julian- the male lead. I loved him as a character. In the beginning, I wasn’t sure about him, but as I got to know him better, I fell in love with him. He was a well-developed character all around.

What disappointed me was the villain. I was expecting either a smooth, charming villain like Keeper in Entwined, or one of those psychotic-for-no-reason villains. I was profoundly disappointed. But to explain any further would spoil the story.

All-in-all, 3.25 stars for me. It had loads of potential, but just didn’t deliver. Not sure if I’ll pick up the sequel. 

-Clara

3 thoughts on “Caraval by Stephanie Garber

Leave a Reply

