On the Captain Guinevere Sequel

Hello.

Captain Guinevere was released in November, and since then, I’ve been working on the sequel. Here we are, at the beginning of May, and I’m not even done with the rough draft.
Sequels are hard. Really hard. There have been so many times writing this thing when I’ve felt like giving up on Gwendolyn Patience and going back to Fantasia Loyal (that’s a novel I began a few years back. I have 17,000 words to it, and hope to finish the first draft over the summer). 

But I can’t drop Gwen’s story. Not only do I have readers who want to know what happens next, I can’t give up on her. Writing, creating a world and people to populate it, is something I have to do. I think it’s as essential as breathing now. Writing really is like coffee. The more you have it, the more you need it. (I don’t know who originally said that. Not me.)

And, cheesy as it might sound, there’s this bond between me and my characters. Especially Gwen. Something won’t let me forget her. She begs me to finish her story almost daily. I know it sounds crazy. If you’re a writer, you’ve probably had this happen to you.

So yes, writing this sequel is one of the most difficult things I’ve ever done. But I know I’ll finish, because I have to. For me. For the people who have read Captain Guinevere. For the characters. 

Yes, it’s hard. But when I finally finish, it’ll be one of the best feelings in the world.

-Clara

2 thoughts on “On the Captain Guinevere Sequel

Leave a Reply

