The 12 Best Books I Read This Year- Bookmas Day 12

I read so many amazing books this year. Outside of school, there was only one book I didn’t enjoy. So picking only twelve is no easy feat. But here you go- twelve books that really stood out that I read for the first time this year.

12. The Once and Future King by T.H. White

This is such a masterfully told work of Arthurian fiction. I loved every second of this book.

11. Black Widow: Forever Red by Margaret Stohl

I read this in a day. It was honestly so spectacular. I laughed, I cried, and I loved every moment. 

10. Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell


I love Rhett and Scarlett. And although it took me forever to read, I loved it.

9. The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh


This romance was done perfectly, and the characters were so real.

8. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

It was short, yes, but it really stood out. I loved Jay Gatsby and this story was just fantastic.

7. Scarlett by Alexandra Ripley


It was the sequel to Gone With the Wind. Same Scarlett, same Rhett. And Ireland.

6. Cress by Marissa Meyer


I just love Marissa Meyer’s writing. Carswell Thorne is the other reason I loved it so much.

5. The Passion of Dolssa by Julie Berry

This is the most powerful historical fiction novel I’ve ever read.

4. The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas

This is the most interesting classic I have ever read. It was for school, but I found myself reading extra sometimes. And it was long, which I always like.

3. What Light by Jay Asher


This was such a powerful story about forgiveness, with a beautiful romance to go with it.

2. The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi


Romance, mythology, and a beautiful writing style made this one of my favorite books. 

1. Entwined by Heather Dixon


Because of the villain. And a romance that didn’t happen. This is my favorite book of all time, and I don’t expect it to change any time soon.

Merry Christmas, Feliz Navidad, Mele Kalikimaka, and Joyeux Noël to all of you! You guys have been awesome, and I’m looking forward to next year!

-Clara Amélie Bennet

Leave a Reply

