On the 8th Day of Bookmas… Eight Books I Want to Read in 2017!

Technically, I should be doing my top eight, but I can’t choose. These are eight of the many books I hope to read next year.

the-hunger-games

Gasps from all of you, I know. Yes, there’s an American teenager who hasn’t read this series, and her name’s Clara Bennet. I thought I’d have to wait until I turned 16, but my mother decided I was ready to read these, and thank goodness. I was getting tired of hearing Hunger Games jokes and not understanding them.

throne-of-glass

This is a series I heard about on BookTube, and I’ve been wanting to read it ever since. It’s one I feel I need to read to help me with my writing. And it sounds epic.

cruel-beauty

I asked to read this earlier this year, but wasn’t allowed to read it. So since I’ll be older, I plan to get my mom to read it first, and she’ll hopefully let me read it. This one has most of my favorite tropes: forced marriage, romance between the heroine and the villain, and, of course, magic. It also has influences from Greek mythology.

hush

I got this at my library for free (my YA librarian is awesome- and not just because she spoils the teens with free books). I love Ireland, so I want to read this next year.

a-crown-of-wishes

This doesn’t come out until March, but I am sooooooooooo excited. The Star-Touched Queen is one of the best books I read this year, and I can hardly wait for this one, which is kinda-sorta-not-really a sequel.

written-in-the-stars

This is one that’s been on my radar for a long while. It’s a modern story about a Pakistani-American family, with an arranged marriage and forbidden love.

stealing-snow

I’ve been eyeing this for a while, too. It’s a retelling of “The Snow Queen”, and I’m still a fan of Frozen (I’ve shocked you today, haven’t I?), so I’m intrigued by this.

vassa-in-the-night

Russian folklore. That’s practically all I know about this, and I love folklore/fairytales/etc.

There are so many others I could put here, but I had to pick just eight. Thanks for reading!

-Clara

Leave a Reply

