The Huntress of Thornbeck Forest

The-Huntress-of-Thornbeck-Forest

I read yet another Melanie Dickerson this week. I really haven’t decided what I’m going to do about Winter– do I buy it or get it from the library?  Help me! I’ve got a $5 gift card to Books-A-Million… but I kinda want something completely unfamiliar. Suggestions?

 

Anyway… The Huntress of Thornbeck Forest is a Robin Hood retelling with hints of Swan Lake. I liked it, but it wasn’t my favorite. I adore Robin Hood. A lot.

The thing about Melanie Dickerson’s books is that the characters instantly fall in love. They don’t really admit their feelings until the end, but still. I love her books, but I wish it wasn’t so clear who’s going to fall in love with who. You know what I mean?

I also found this book highly predictable. So all-in-all, not my favorite Melanie Dickerson.

However, I’m very excited about The Silent Songbird, a Little Mermaid retelling, which is being released in November.

-Clara

2 thoughts on “The Huntress of Thornbeck Forest

  1. This wasn’t my favorite of hers, either. I really like The Captive Maiden and The Merchant’s Daughter. And I would say it doesn’t really matter if you buy Winter or not; if you like marking books, definitely buy it because there is a lot to mark in my opinion… 🙂

    1. I don’t usually mark books, but if you say there’s a lot worth marking, maybe I will buy it.

      I haven’t read either The Captive Maiden or The Merchant’s Daughter, but I’m sure I will eventually. I’m taking a break from Medieval romance for a while.

Leave a Reply

