Entwined

entwined cover

First of all, a shout-out to my fellow blogging book-lover, Literary Moose (you should totally check out her blog; she’s got some awesome stuff), for reading this and reviewing it. I wouldn’t have read it if she hadn’t posted about it, so thanks to her.

It was fantastic. From the gorgeous cover to the satisfying conclusion, I adored every page of this book. Mystery, romance, and magic… The perfect novel.

And Keeper… I don’t think I’ve ever liked a villain so much in my life, not even Loki from the Thor movies. He did get creepy at about halfway through, but I still liked him. It’s rather annoying, actually, to like someone you know you shouldn’t. But he was so handsome and charming, it was practically impossible not to love him.

This was the second retelling of the Twelve Dancing Princesses I read in a week (Princess of the Midnight Ball was the first), and this was definitely the best. At first, I didn’t expect to like it as much, since the girls wanted to dance, whereas they’d been forced to in the other. I liked that quite a bit. But then Keeper entered, and I couldn’t put it down.

Unlike Princess of the Midnight Ball, in this version of the fairy tale, the princesses wanted to dance. The twelve girls, all named after flowers, lose their mother at the book’s beginning, and during the year of mourning, dancing is not allowed. So they escape to Keeper’s magical, silver world. What the eldest princess, Azalea, doesn’t know is that there’s much more to the darkly handsome Keeper than what meets the eye. And before she understands what’s happened, she’s fighting for the lives of her entire family, including herself.

Told through Azalea’s point of view, the book has plenty of magic as Azalea slowly falls in love. Dixon did a marvelous job with the romance, too. It was a “I like him, but he’s perfect for her, too…” read. And the fact that the villain would have been a wonderful match for Azalea only made it even more riveting. The only thing I’d add would be a tad bit more romance between Keeper and Azalea. I think he should have at least faintly kissed her. But that’s just my romantic self talking.

Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful. Seriously. Read it. Even if you hate fairy tale retellings, this may convert you. This was by far one of the best books I’ve read in a long while.

Thanks!

-Clara B.

https://www.amazon.com/Entwined-Heather-Dixon/dp/0062001043

Leave a Reply

