The Once and Future King

The Once and Future King, and Arthurian novel by T.H. White, was absolutely amazing. It was one I read when I got bored with Gone With the Wind (for more on that, click here).

It conveyed the story of King Arthur in a way I’d been longing to read- like a novel, not a series of short stories all smashed together. While reading it, I felt like I was in Camelot, right there with Arthur, Lancelot, and Guinevere. White didn’t tell of the forbidden love between Lancelot and Guinevere, he showed it. He made me feel Elaine’s love for Lancelot du Lac and her hate for Guinevere. White’s novel draws you in and won’t let you go, not even when the book ends. It’s one to keep and read a lot more than once or twice.

This is the fantasy classic for any King Arthur fan. If you haven’t read a single King Arthur book, start with this one. It’s the best retelling I’ve ever read, and I’ve loved the story since I was seven years old.

-Clara

Leave a Reply

